The Black Cascades

Perfect. Erfect. Rfect. Fect. Ect. Ct. T. . . …….

“I didn’t even know this was all buried here,” said Explorer Anne.

“Yeah, neither did I,” said Explorer Cricket.

The two scouts surveyed the wreckage. Fish guts, Starbucks cups, rusty toys, moldy food, and broken video cassettes made up the floor of a litter-ocean that disappeared into the horizon. The smell was overpowering- both Anne and Cricket were fighting the urge to vomit.

Mayor Hon ordered the city carpet to be pulled up. All buildings, restaurants, houses, and parks were to be flattened. People whined at first, but soon they understood. Some rancid smell had been coming from the ground since July of 2004. The city would not be able to prosper if its foundation was defiled.

“Something’s rotten in the state,” he declared.

___________________________________________

I wish to be pushed in at the shoulders and become a cube. If someone would apply enough pressure, I’m sure it could happen. Mother always told me I could be anything I wanted to be. I want to be a cube. I want a hundred people to come alongside me, push on me at all touchpoints, and fold me into the most perfect cube that ever existed.

_______________________________________

If this cloud of disillusionment wears off anytime soon, I’ll be back to normal. People will see my ugliness like they always do. That frown I put on every morning will reappear. I wish it wouldn’t.

*    *    *    *   *

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment