Bull[Beep]

Oh gracious.

Catch this. I’m trying to read about the Holy Spirit and these two late 20, early 30-something-year-olds are swearing up a storm to my right and keeping me from any progressive train of thought.

It’s interesting hearing two people act as soundboards for one another. They don’t reply to each other in a constructive way at all. This girl is talking about how fat and out of shape she is… she’s complaining about her arms but then redeems herself by saying how she has decent muscles. The guy across from her is talking about his extreme hair loss, saying he might start taking pills. But the girl keeps speaking of her clothes, how she’s sick of them, how they make her look bulky. And the guy keeps talking about himself, and the girl keeps talking about herself… Deary me, what is this place coming to?

I woke up early this morning with a worried mind and through the darkness I received this:

“Never be in a hurry. Do everything quietly and in a calm spirit. Do not lose your inward peace for anything whatsoever, even if your whole world seems upset. Commend all to God, and then lie still and be at rest in his bosom. Whatever happens, abide steadfast in determination to cling simply to God. Maintain a holy simplicity of mind, and do not smother yourself with a host of cares, wishes or longings, under any pretext.”
— St. Francis de Sales

 

And the truth is beginning to shine. Not the missionary truth, not the truth of the cross… All of that has deceived me. All of it. In every light it has. But now, the arts are bringing the sweetness back to me. Oh, God, grant me this sweetness.

He begins to tell a story. She pulls out her iPhone. Mission complete.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment