Take. Time. Take. Time.

The only reason for time is so that everything doesn’t happen at once.” -Albert Einstein

 

GOOD MORNING!!!!!!!!!

I think I should plan to start every blog in such an exhilarated manner. If I plan to begin by a customary droning- you know, “life is horrible, life sucks, please, someone hand me the noose,”  kind of talk, then my life as humanity knows it will fade into existence. Everyone has something to complain about. No one’s life is going right. So why should I add another marble to the jar? Shouldn’t I be the exception? The happy one? The odd man out? The Ugly Duckling? Oh, wait. The Ugly Duckling appalled others. He was the hideous thing that acted as the center of his peers’ ridicule. Ah, the story of my young adult life. Maybe I shouldn’t be so happy. But wait- didn’t this Ugly Duckling turn out to be a swan? Okay, then, maybe we have a light at the end of the tunnel! I’ll continue to be cheery in hopes that people will begin to hear my swan-song somewhat soon.

Now, to find something to talk about that’s happy. Hm, let me think.

As you could see, I was planning on reserving this entry to discuss the concept of time. Time- the thing that really doesn’t exist. However, I sense a hint of depression in that discussion. The concept of time really only comes about in existentialist theoretical talk, so I’ll reserve that for conversation for my boyfriend 🙂 We enjoy discussing such matters. But then we have potty humor to take us back up, so we’re in no danger of melancholy.

Oh, yes, now I remember: the other reason I brought up time was daylight savings. We gained an hour this time. Here’s my good side/bad side conversation that’s taking place:

GOOD. We gained an hour! I get to start my day off on the right foot. You know, take that extra hour and do something productive with it.

BAD. Yes, but soon that extra hour will disappear into the folds of your busy life without you ever remembering it was there. You’re so busy that inevitably, your time management skills will deceive you come tomorrow and this extra hour will only be a momentary delight.

GOOD. Oh, don’t be so negative. There’s a chance that this hour will be a more permanent thing. My clock is wound an hour back, see. I’ll be able to get up for school tomorrow with more ease. Maybe I’ll even get a chance to read with breakfast.

BAD. Yeah. Dostoevsky is a great way to begin the day.

GOOD. You’re missing the point.

BAD. Anyhow, the next daylight savings will be the opposite. So, theoretically, you only have half a year to enjoy this hour before it’s snatched away from you again.

And you see how it would continue. Sometimes I really do have the angel and the devil on my shoulders. They like to pretend they’re not there. Often, the angel’s sick.

Let’s transition to another GOOD thing.

Tyler and I are going to see Hamlet today at the Centerhouse Theatre. We’ve never seen a Shakespeare play together, and Hamlet’s been one of our joys. When I had to memorize “To be or not to be” in high school, Ty memorized it with me. Since he’s much better at memorization than I, he inevitably helped me memorize it, but we did it together and discussed life and death and the plagues of life. So today will be a good day.

I’ll end it on that before the angel gets sick.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment